product image

Tokyo Scoring Strings$399

Tokyo Scoring Strings

Preorders are now open for our upcoming flagship orchestral string library, Tokyo Scoring Strings. Introducing the distinctive sound of Koichiro Muroya Strings, the top Japanese session string ensemble, heard on countless world-famous anime and game soundtracks. Recorded in the legendary Sound City Studio by Japan’s top recording engineer, Mitsunori Aizawa. Incredible agility, stirring vibrato, and enough deeply-sampled playing techniques to realize virtually any score.

Note: During the preorder period, coupons may not be used when purchasing Tokyo Scoring Strings.

This is a preorder for an UPCOMING product. The serial number you receive will NOT be usable until the library is released by the end of 2021. No coupon codes may be used with this product.


This product qualifies for a free copy of
Mega Brass with code freemegabrass
Mega Brass | $49 $0

Huge hybrid orchestral brass with massive acoustic and up to 9 synth layer elements, perfect for epic film/TV/trailer scoring!

Got a demo that features this product? We'd love to hear it!


  • 24-bit / 48kHz recordings (downmixed from 96 kHz)
  • Four mic positions: close, room, decca, surround
  • Mitsunori Aizawa’s personal board mix
  • Sustain without vibrato, con vibrato, and molto vibrato
  • Up to 5 dynamic layers per articulation
  • Spiccato, staccato, staccatissimo, and secco
  • Four types of legato
  • Tremolo, harmonics, trills
  • Decrescendo & sforzando


  • Easy control over dynamics, dynamic range, vibrato, and legato speed from the front page
  • Highly playable and expressive legato (including poly legato)
  • Three playback modes: realtime, balanced, and lookahead
  • Total Articulation Control Technology (TACT) version 3: easily create any mapping you want using keyswitches, velocity, midi CC, pedals — to fit your personal workflow
  • Deep editing for power users, including legato transitions, sample offsets, and much more
  • NKS compatible
  • CONSOLE FX rack & mixer


  • KONTAKT 6 Player OR Full Version
  • Minimum RAM Required: 8GB
  • Recommended RAM (All sections / Board Mix): 16GB
  • Fully Loaded RAM (All sections / All mics): 32GB
  • 90gb of hard drive space
  • Patch Walkthrough
  • Articulation System
  • Behind the Scenes Story
  • Teaser Reveal

Tokyo Scoring Strings (PREORDER)

The sound of Japanese strings is both captivating and highly unique. What makes it so distinctive? Smaller ensembles recorded in focused studio spaces lend themselves to more agile playing, and a focus on perfection leads to incredible accuracy. These strengths make Japanese ensembles equally capable of delicate nuance and sweeping emotional performances that move listeners to tears. For many of us who have admired Japanese soundtracks for years, this sound has long been a source of inspiration, but it’s been out of reach for most composers outside of Japan — until now.

Our goal with Tokyo Scoring Strings is to give you the orchestral string sound beloved in so many world-famous Japanese productions. This project has been a dream come true for all of us at Impact Soundworks, and we’re thrilled to be working with some of our musical heroes to bring it to life. But we weren’t satisfied with just capturing this remarkable sound; we also want to deliver an outstanding, inspiring UI, flexible editing, beautiful legato, and recording depth to rival any other industry-standard string libraries.

Our Japanese Partners

We are honored to have partnered with an incredible team of musicians and collaborators in Japan:

  • Koichiro Muroya Strings, led by Koichiro Muroya. The most in-demand session ensemble in all of Japan. Their exquisite playing can be heard on many of your favorite soundtracks.
  • Mitsunori Aizawa, Japan’s top engineer, responsible for mixing and recording hundreds of world-famous scores.
  • Sound City Recording Studio, an incredible recording space with over 60 years of history. This choice of studio gives Tokyo Scoring Strings a tighter, more focused sound that lends itself extremely well to more agile playing and mixing with external reverb
  • Renowned anime & film composer Masaru Yokoyama, who brought his experience recording scores around the world through his companies Plugnote and MiracleBus.
  • Crypton Future Media and SonicWire, our Japanese distributors who have helped with the project from the very beginning.

Tokyo Scoring Strings features five independently recorded sections (Violins 1, Violins 2, Viola, Cello, Bass) in a typical Japanese ensemble size (8/6/6/4/3) suitable for small and large productions alike.

Tokyo Studio Strings includes a well-rounded set of articulations recorded in superb detail. We have paid particular attention to delivering outstanding legato as well as the agility and crisp short notes that are such a strength of smaller Japanese string sections. You'll be able to easily write and mock-up sweeping melodies, intimate legato, and aggressive agile passages.

Note: All articulations below are true, unique recordings, not created by re-pitching or processing other samples!


  • Arco (Sustain) - 5 dynamics, 3 vibrato levels (senza, con, molto)
  • Bowed Legato - 3 dynamics, 2x rr
  • Slurred Legato - 3 dynamics, 2x rr
  • Bowed Portamento - 3 dynamics
  • Slurred Portamento - 3 dynamics
  • Rebow - 3 dynamics, 5x rr
  • Staccato - 5 dynamics, 6x rr
  • Staccatissimo - 5 dynamics, 6x rr
  • Spiccato - 4 dynamics, 6x rr
  • Crisp (Secco) Spiccato - 2 dynamics, 6x rr
  • Sforzando - Dotted eighth & dotted quarter lengths, 3x rr
  • Decrescendo - Dotted eighth & dotted quarter lengths, 3x rr
  • Pizzicato - 3 dynamics, 4x rr
  • Tremolo - 4 dynamics
  • Trills - 2 dynamics, whole tone & half tone
  • Releases - natural, excited, and staccato
  • Harmonics

Console: Modular FX Rack and Mixer

Console is a fully-featured mixer, modular effects rack, and pedal board, designed to give you full control over your mix. Effects include multiple EQs (digital and analog-style), compressors, spatial FX, modulation FX, amps, distortion pedals, reverbs, and more.

Each mic channel can be loaded with up to 8 FX in any order, plus another 8 slots on the master channel, with support for send routing as well. The new "Galois Reverb" added in Kontakt 6 Player sounds fantastic as an alternative to our included custom IRs.

Download the Console manual here to learn more!

Testimonial - Hiroyuki Sawano (Attack on Titan, Kill La Kill, Seven Deadly Sins)

"I was curious about TSS because my work friends, Mr. Muroya and Mr. Aizawa were involved in the project. It was recorded in a studio that I often use for my string recording. I have enjoyed using this library as its sound presence and moderate ambience is unique and different compared to overseas recorded libraries that I usually use. I think it can be used effectively in a wide range of genres, not only for epic sounds, but also for rock, pop and dance music."

Testimonial - Satoru Kosaki (Lucky Star, Monogatari, Beastars)

"I feel proud that a library made by close representative members of the Japanese soundtrack industry will be released. I played back MIDI data from one of my past compositions which was eventually recorded with the exact same team, and it sounded astonishingly similar. I was also impressed by how easily I was able to produce their sound without having to adjust or mix any details such as the space size, instrument balance, and legato speed, etc. I would absolutely recommend this library to anyone who wants to replicate the sound of Japanese soundtracks, and personally, I feel it will prove to be crucial in my arrangement process as it will be so much easier to imagine the final recorded result."